China ramps up cooperation in emergencies with Central Asian nations

The five states of the region, namely Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan and Kyrgyzstan, will sign the document.

China and the Central Asian states — Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan plan to sign a memorandum of understanding to build partnerships for emergency management. This statement was made by Director-General of the International Cooperation Department of the Ministry of Emergency Management of China Wang Manda at a press conference in Beijing, Xinhua reported.

Wang Manda said the memorandum will be signed at a China-Central Asia Ministerial Meeting on emergency management scheduled to take place in Urumqi on May 30. The politician noted that China and the five Central Asian nations face high risks of natural disasters, such as earthquakes, floods and forest and grassland fires. The signing of the memorandum will enable the parties to strengthen cooperation in mitigating the impacts of natural disasters.

Following the first China-Central Asia Summit in May 2023, the heads of the emergency management departments of China and the Central Asian states decided to establish a new cooperation mechanism. The parties declared their intention to deepen cross-border rescue cooperation.

31 05 2024, 10:12
Photo source:

1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7 8 9 10